We’re back, baby! (And our teeth are pretty clean.)

September 24, 2010

Oh, the stories I could tell about the last two months! (Has it really only been two months?–it feels like two years!) Suffice it to say that working full time is a whole ‘nother ball game from a part time gig (not surprisingly) and I’m not sure how often I’ll be able to grab a minute to post. Especially because I like to have ample time to reread things obsessively before I post them. So I just tend to get paralyzed into doing nothing when I can only grab 20 minutes here and there.

But I will try to get over that because posting SOMETHING is better than NOTHING. I mean, I can convey useful information quickly, if somewhat less wittily and/or profoundly, right?

Here goes…

You might recall that I’ve had a few ups and downs in my quest to say goodbye to commercial toothpaste permanently. But I’m happy to say that I have finally settled on a recipe I like and that the interwebs have convinced me is extremely effective.

Here are the directions for making it. Although you don’t need to look at them really–just mix food grade coconut oil and baking soda together until they make a paste. I added the peppermint oil for flavor. But skipped the sweetener because I have PTSD from my ill-fated first try at it. (Although I did find the pure stevia at Whole Foods–it was in the stupid health supplement section all along. Dur.)

Anyway, it’s working quite nicely! It’s kind of luxurious, even.

(And just as an aside that to me sort of reflects how bizarrely our commercially-programmed minds work when it comes to what is accepted and what isn’t…a friend of a friend heard that I was thinking of putting stevia in my toothpaste and wanted to be sure I knew that there are some studies that show it can interfere with thyroid function. Now, I totally appreciate the heads up, since I have a wonky thyroid, but why is it that a friend of a friend would warn me about trace amounts of stevia in my mouth and its theoretical possible effect on my thyroid but not warn me about, you know, toothpaste, which is basically made out of a number of actually poisonous ingredients?)

One Response to “We’re back, baby! (And our teeth are pretty clean.)”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I am SO GLAD you are BACK! Even if fleetingly. Except that now I can’t even brush my teeth without thinking that I’m poisoning myself. LOVE YOU!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

